Wednesday, 14th April 2021


Councillor’s Role
Councillors are elected to represent an individual geographical unit on the Council, known as ward or – mainly in smaller parishes – the entire parish or town council area. They are generally elected by the public every four years.

Councillors have three main components to their work:
  1. Decision making – Through meetings and attending committees with other elected members, councillors decide which activities to support, where money should be spent, what services should be delivered and what policies should be implemented.
  2. Monitoring – Councillors make sure that their decisions lead to efficient and effective services by keeping an eye on how well things are working.
  3. Getting involved locally – As local representatives, councillors have responsibilities towards their constituents and local organisations. These responsibilities and duties often depend on what the councillor wants to achieve and how much time is available, and may include:
    • Going to meetings of local organisations such as tenants’ associations.
    • Going to meetings of bodies affecting the wider community.
    • Taking up issues on behalf of members of the public.
    • Running a surgery for residents to bring up issues.
    • Meeting with individual residents in their own homes.
Visiting your council is the best way to find out what happens there. Give the council a call and find out when its next public meeting happens. By law, ordinary people are allowed to be present at most council business.

If you are interested in taking an active part in Parish life as a Councillor you may want to download and the read the following documents:

The Good Councillor Guide

Becoming a Councillor

Chair - Councillor Sharon Biggin Tel: 01709 817758
Vice Chair - Councillor Donna Sutton Tel: 07867 995195
Disclosure of interests

North Ward
Councillor Christine Beaumont Tel: 01709 816960
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Sharon Biggin Tel: 01709 817758
Councillor Andrew Fletcher Tel: 07790 309459
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Michael Richardson Tel: 01709 815567
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Keith Stringer Tel: 01709 816582
Disclosure of interests

South Ward
Councillor Jon Carratt Tel: 077677 85595
Councillor Amy Rushforth Tel: 07825 125416
Disclosure of interests

East Ward
Councillor Pauline Heaps Tel: TBA
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Joy Bradford Tel: 01709 279326
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Ann Dickinson Tel: 01709 790458
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Donna Sutton Tel: 07867 995195
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Colin Beresford Tel: TBA

West Ward
Councillor Jenny Andrews Tel: 01709 814714
Disclosure of interests
Councillor Janet Law Tel: 07400 121232
Disclosure of interests
Councillor John Kirk Tel: TBA
Disclosure of interests

Explore Further